Eur J Hosp Pharm 19:3-4 doi:10.1136/ejhpharm-2012-000081
  • Editorials

About the EAHP

The European Association of Hospital Pharmacists (EAHP) is a working community of national associations of hospital pharmacists. Its membership includes representatives of national hospital pharmacy associations in almost all of the EU member states, in addition to Switzerland, Norway, Serbia, Turkey, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Bosnia Herzegovina. Membership is increasing each year and, at present, the EAHP represents the interest of over 21 000 hospital pharmacists in 31 countries all over Europe.


At a scientific congress in Strasbourg, a number of hospital pharmacists from different European countries decided that they should establish a new European association to represent their common interests. Thus in 1969 the seeds of the EAHP were sown. On 6 March 1972, representatives of six European countries signed the first Statutes of the EAHP in The Hague, The Netherlands. The first President of the EAHP was Marcel Lebas from France.

The first member countries were Belgium, Britain, Denmark, France, the Federal Republic of Germany and The Netherlands. In 1973, Ireland and Spain joined the EAHP, soon followed by Norway, Greece, Austria, Sweden and Switzerland. In …

EJHP blog

Analysis and discussion of the latest news, research findings and policy developments in hospital pharmacy.

Visit the blog >>

Free Sample

This recent issue is free to all users to allow everyone the opportunity to see the full scope and typical content of EJHP.

View free sample issue >>

Email alerts

Don't forget to sign up for content alerts so you keep up to date with all the articles as they are published.

Navigate This Article