Article Text

Download PDFPDF
News from the European Association of Hospital Pharmacists
  1. Richard Price
  1. Correspondence to Richard Price, EAHP, 3 Rue Abbe Cuypers, Brussels 1040, Belgium; po{at}

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Round-up of news from the EAHP General Assembly 2012

The European Association of Hospital Pharmacists (EAHP) held its annual General Assembly (GA) in Budapest, Hungary, from 15 to 16 June 2012. Fifty-eight representatives from 29 member countries of the EAHP gathered to discuss relevant issues related to the further development of hospital pharmacy in Europe (figure 1).

Figure 1

The EAHP General Assembly meets in Budapest, June 2012.

EAHP Board Members and delegates from represented member countries shared points of view and perspectives about the current challenges for healthcare systems in Europe and provided valuable input to discussions on a wide variety of EAHP projects, ambitions and core activities (figures 2 and 3).

Figure 2

The newly elected EAHP Board. Bottom row, from left to right: Tajda Miharija-Gala (Vice-President), Francesca Venturini, Roberto Frontini (President) and Aida Batista. Back row, from left to right: Cees Neef, Petr Horak, Juraj Sykora, Tony West (Director of Finances) and Joan Peppard.

Figure 3

EAHP delegates, board and staff from countries across Europe at the 2012 EAHP General Assembly.

Highlights of the GA included: The integration of a new country member—Iceland: Eva Ágústsdóttir and Thorunn Godmundsdottir, representatives of the hospital pharmacy section of the Pharmaceutical Society of Iceland, gave the GA a brief overview of the history and current status of the profession in their country. The GA was delighted to unanimously accept their application for membership. Iceland is now the 32nd member country of the EAHP.

The elections for key positions on the EAHP board: The Assembly said a fond and grateful farewell to long-serving Board Members Elfriede Dolinar (Austria) and Prof Dr Vagn Handlos (Denmark). Elfriede and Vagn had recently served as Vice-President and Director of Education, Science and Research, respectively. Re-elected President Dr Roberto Frontini thanked them warmly for their significant contributions to the work of the Association. Mrs Tajda Miharija-Gala (Slovenia) was …

View Full Text


  • Competing interests None.

  • Provenance and peer review Commissioned; internally peer reviewed.